About the LUI Che Woo Prize (“Prize”)

  • 1. What are the objectives of the Prize?

    The Prize is established to promote three objectives in the pursuit of a peaceful and loving world, and to act as a catalyst to the continued development of world civilisation:

    Objective 1: Sustainable development of the world

    Objective 2: Betterment of the welfare of mankind

    Objective 3: Promotion of positive life attitude and enhancement of positive energy

    Please go to this Link for the details of the objectives of the Prize.

  • 2. What are the Prize Categories?

    There are three Prize Categories under which the Prize Company will each year determine Specific Areas of Focus . The Specific Areas of Focus in 2016 are:

    Prize Category 1: Sustainable development of the world – World Food Supply: Safety and Security

    Prize Category 2: Betterment of the welfare of mankind – Treatment and/or control of epidemics, infectious diseases or chronic illnesses.

    Prize Categories 3: Promotion of positive life attitude and enhancement of positive energy – Individuals or organisations whose behaviour and achievement inspire, energise and give hope to others.

    Please go to visit this Link for details of the Prize Categories.

  • 3. What is the potential coverage of Specific Areas of Focus?

    The specific areas of focus cover pioneering accomplishments in areas of technology, medical care, literature, art, charity and/or peace which enhance the well-being of mankind and advocate positive life values.

  • 4. How many prizes will be awarded each year?

    A maximum of three awards will be presented each year; one under each of the three Prize Categories.

  • 5. How often is the Prize presented?

    The award is presented annually.

  • 6. When will the first Prize be awarded?

    The initial Prize will be awarded in 2016.

  • 7. Who founded the Prize?

    Dr. LUI Che Woo established the Prize to realise his profound belief in “giving back to the society from which one has benefited”.

  • 8. What will Prize laureates receive?

    The laureate of each Prize category will receive a cash award of HK$20 million (around US$2.56 million), a certificate and a trophy.

About Nomination

  • 1. Who can I make a nomination?

    Only invited individuals or organisations (nominators) can make nomination(s) and receive official nomination information from the Prize Company. Uninvited nomination and self-nomination will not be considered.

  • 2. Who are eligibale for nomination?

    A nominator can nominate any individual or organization who/ which has made outstanding achievements related to one of the Specific Areas of Focus in the year.

    Please visit this Link for the details of the eligibility of nominees.

  • 3. Is the Prize only open to individuals?

    The Prize is open to both individuals and organisations.

  • 4. Can I nominate an individual or organization whose achievement falls within the three Prize Categories but outside the Specific Areas of Focus?

    If a nominee’s achievements fall outside the Specific Area of Focus in a year but still within the Prize Category, a nominator can still make the nomination under the Prize Category for the Prize Company to consider.

  • 5. Can the nominators nominate more than one nominee?

    Nominators can make multiple nominations, but only one for each of the Prize Categories in a year. Therefore, a nominator can nominate a maximum of three nominees in a year.

  • 6. Can the Prize be jointly shared?

    The Prize will only be awarded to a single nominee.

  • 7. Can the nominators nominate an individual who is not alive?

    Individuals must be living at the date of their nomination.

About Selection

  • 1. What is the selection process?

    Prize awardees are selected carefully through a three-stage review process. The nominations will be reviewed by the Selection Panels, the Prize Recommendation Committee and finally the Prize Council.

    Please visit this Link for details of the selection process.

    Please visit links in below for the list of members of the Prize Council and the Prize Recommendation Committee:

    Prize Council Link.

    Prize Recommendation Committee Link.

  • 2. Where can we find the list of nominees?

    The details of nominations will be kept strictly confidential.

  • 3. When will the laureates be announced and prizes presented?

    The laureates will be announced and prizes presented in the second half of 2016.